Voting in the AACTA Awards determines which productions, performers and practitioners will be honoured with Australia’s highest screen accolade – an AACTA Award. Voting is exclusive to AACTA members, with members drawn from every sector of the screen entertainment industry including Free-To-Air Television, Streaming/SVOD/Subscription Television, Online, and Film and Documentary. All AACTA members – Professional, General, and Youth – will vote on the nominees and winners across all major Award categories. Our General membership is inclusive and open to people from all backgrounds, including those that may be facing systemic barriers to their professional development, and we welcome their contribution to the conversation around our culture and creativity.

The determination of Technical Craft nominees and winners across TV, Film and Documentary is limited to Professional members with relevant craft accreditation, and those members will receive information directly at time of voting.

Find out more about viewing and voting in the 2024 AACTA Awards below. Please note the availability of voting forms may be slightly delayed, and may not be available on the respective start dates listed below. We ask for your patience and to regularly check on availability via the AACTA TV platform, where you will be viewing the contenders.

Round one viewing and voting will determine this year's AACTA Award Nominees and is open to ALL members*. Viewing and voting across each category will be open for the specified period below.

Round two viewing and voting will determine this year's AACTA Award Winners and is open to ALL members*. Viewing and voting across each category will be open for the specified period below.


You can view and vote on all eligible entries via AACTA TV. Please click on the FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION dropdown menu item at top to view the current field in consideration. A voting link is available above the content thumbnails, and you can also vote by clicking the VOTE button on the top menu.


Viewing & Voting Key Dates*




Round 1 
(Decide the AACTA Nominees)

Round 2
(Decide the AACTA Winners)

Short Film Award -Best Short Film July 28, 2023 - August 21, 2023 December 9, 2023 - January 8, 2024
Documentary (Feature) Award -Best Documentary August 25, 2023 - September 18, 2023  December 9, 2023 - January 8, 2024
Online Awards -Best Online Drama or Comedy Series October 13, 2023 - October 30, 2023 December 9, 2023 - January 8, 2024
Major Film Awards  -Best Film
-Best Indie Film
-Best Direction in Film
-Best Lead Actor in Film
-Best Lead Actress in Film
-Best Original Screenplay in Film
-Best Adapted Screenplay in Film
-Best Supporting Actor in Film
-Best Supporting Actress in Film
 October 6, 2023 - October 30, 2023 December 9, 2023 - January 8, 2024
Major TV Awards -Best Children’s Program
-Best Comedy Performer
-Best Comedy Entertainment Program
-Best Direction in Drama or Comedy
-Best Direction in Non-Fiction TV
-Best Documentary or Factual Program
-Best Drama Series
-Best Entertainment Program
-Best Factual Entertainment Program
-Best Lifestyle Program
-Best Lead Actress in a Drama
-Best Lead Actor in a Drama
-Best Miniseries
-Best Narrative Comedy Series
-Best Reality Program
-Best Screenplay in TV
-Best Stand-Up Special
-Best Supporting Actress in a Drama
-Best Supporting Actor in a Drama
October 27, 2023 - November 20, 2023 December 9, 2023 - January 8, 2024
Technical Craft Awards
TV Technical Craft
-Best Cinematography in TV
-Best Costume Design in TV
-Best Editing in TV
-Best Production Design in TV
-Best Score in TV
-Best Sound in TV
Film Technical Craft
-Best Cinematography in Film
-Best Costume Design in Film
-Best Editing in Film
-Best Production Design in Film
-Best Original Score in Film
-Best Sound in Film
Documentary Technical Craft
-Best Cinematography in a Documentary
-Best Editing in a Documentary
-Best Sound in a Documentary
-Best Original Score in a Documentary
Other Technical Craft
-Best Casting
-Best Hair and Makeup
-Best Visual Effects or Animation*
August 25, 2023 - November 13, 2023 N/A

 *Above dates are a guide and AACTA reserves the right to change voting dates.

Have Your Say


Find out which categories you're eligible to vote in this year. We've opened our voting to more members to ensure we have a diverse and inclusive approach to our AACTA Awards.





Short Film Awards

Documentary (Feature) Award


Online Awards

Major TV Awards


Major Film Awards


Technical Craft Awards**


*Youth & General member votes are weighted at 0.5

**To vote on the Craft awards you must be a Professional member and register below to join the respective branch/es. Eligibility for voting on Technical Craft awards is based on your industry experience and technical craft accreditation. To update your accreditation, you can email us.

View the entries on AACTA TV where you can submit your votes. You can also submit your votes by clicking the relevant button below.

Don't Miss Out
Want to get updates from AACTA? Sign Up Below

Your cart

No items in your cart.