AACTA Awards



AACTA Awards Sydney

The AACTA Awards (formerly the AFI Awards) have honoured screen excellence in Australia for over 60 years, since the first AFI Awards were held in 1958.

Held annually in Sydney in recognition and celebration of Australia's highest achievements in film and television, the AACTA Awards present over 55 awards across two major ceremonies.

The peer-assessed AACTA Awards are the only Australian industry body to honour practitioners across all crafts and industry sectors, including feature film, documentary, short film, television, online, visual effects and animation.

Over the past 60 years, the Awards have grown to become a world-class marker of screen excellence alongside the Oscars® and the BAFTAs. Many of Australia's most iconic and successful screen talent, both in front of and behind the camera - from actors such as Cate BlanchettRussell CroweNicole KidmanDeborah Mailman and Hugo Weaving, to directors such as Bruce BeresfordGillian ArmstrongDr George Miller and Warwick Thornton, to craftspeople such as Jill BilcockCatherine Martin and John Seale - have come through the ranks and been recognised among their peers at the AFI and AACTA Awards before going on to achieve international accolades and become household names.

Full list of past awards:

The 2020 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel

The 2019 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel

The 2018 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel

The 2017 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel

The 2016 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel

The 2015 AACTA Awards presented by Presto

The 2015 AACTA Awards

The 2014 AACTA Awards

The 2013 AACTA Awards

The 2012 AFI Awards


The AACTA Awards are proudly supported by the New South Wales Government, through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.



AACTA International Awards

Held annually in Los Angeles, the AACTA International Awards honour the best achievements in film excellence, regardless of geography, across seven categories: Best Film, Best Direction, Best Screenplay, Best Lead Actor, Best Lead Actress, Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress.

The AACTA International Awards add a uniquely Australian voice to the international awards circuit alongside the Oscars® and the BAFTAs.

The Awards honour our international screen peers and celebrate fellow Australians working in screen internationally. Past winners have included Meryl StreepAlfonso CuarónCate BlanchettRobert De NiroJennifer LawrenceQuentin TarantinoLeonardo DiCaprioJacki WeaverEmma StoneRami Malek, and Nicole Kidman.

Attracting some of the biggest names in film worldwide, the AACTA International Awards attract attention from both the international screen industry and media, including leading international outlets The Hollywood ReporterVarietyDeadline, and EXTRA.

The Awards are determined by AACTA’s International Chapter who vote across the seven categories. The AACTA International Chapter is made up of 190 Australian screen professionals with distinguished international credentials, including Baz LuhrmannCatherine MartinJan Chapman, and Jacki Weaver to name a few. Many International Chapter members are also members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS and the Oscars®), BAFTA, the Screen Actors Guild (SAG), and include members from the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA and the Golden Globes).

Read more about past AACTA International Awards, including past winners and nominees here.

For information on AACTA’s International Chapter and chapter membership, please contact Sam Buckland at sbuckland@afi.org.au.




Thanks to the generous support of our 
partners and sponsors.

Don't Miss Out
Keep up to date

Your cart

No items in your cart.