Media Room

The Reg Grundy Award is back, giving every Aussie TV fan the chance to create their own unscripted show!

If you’re one of the millions of Aussies who spend their evenings calling out the answers to quiz shows in the living room, judging the execution of cooking, theatrical performances, and bedroom renovations, or preparing for chats about the latest ‘social experiment’ style television show around the water cooler, then the AACTA Reg Grundy Award is for you.

Now in its third year, the AACTA Reg Grundy Award is open to any Australian with an original idea for the nation’s next favourite unscripted television show. With $50k on offer, comprised of $20,000 in cash and $30,000 in development funding, the prize is the largest of its kind in the world!

Reg Grundy pioneered the international trade of television formats, allowing Australian unscripted television shows to be adapted and enjoyed around the world. Just last week, Sydney-based production company Northern Pictures took out three Emmy Awards for the US adaption of their original Australian format, LOVE ON THE SPECTRUM. Other original Australian formats sold internationally include THANK GOD YOU’RE HERE, HAVE YOU BEEN PAYING ATTENTION? and THE PROJECT.

Australian adaptions of international formats MASTERCHEF, SURVIVOR, THE CHASE, BIG BROTHER, and FARMER WANTS A WIFE makeup regular nightly programming. And while we do enjoy an adaption, our homegrown unscripted television shows are among the nation’s favourites. Original Australian productions SPICKS AND SPECKS, STEVE IRWIN’S THE CROCODILE HUNTER, BONDI RESCUE, MUSTER DOGS, YOU CAN’T ASK THAT, and THE BLOCK demonstrate the success of unscripted television that possess a distinct Aussie flavour.

In partnership with Reg Grundy’s wife, Chairman of RG Capital, author and businesswoman Mrs Joy Chambers Grundy, the Reg Grundy award asks Australians from all walks of life and across all experience levels to pitch an idea that is original, viable and possesses a shimmer of Grundy ‘magic’.

The recipient of the Reg Grundy Award is determined by a judging panel made of up industry experts. Debbie Cuell, Head of the newly formed Sparkle Pictures, and previously Head of Entertainment at the ABC and an AACTA Award winning executive at Endemol Shine Australia (OLD PEOPLE’S HOME FOR 4 YEAR OLDS), and Steve Oemcke, co-founder of WTFN, one of Australia’s most successful, innovative and prolific content businesses (POSTCARDS, BONDI VET) join returning judges Sharon Wheeler (Award-winning Senior Entertainment Executive), Marion Farrelly (Speaker, Consultant, Creative Strategist), and Ian Hogg (Media CEO, Advisor, Australian Idol, Australia’s Got Talent, Family Feud).

“I had the great pleasure of working for Grundy in the early 2000’s - when I hosted iconic game show Wheel of Fortune. I learnt a lot about Reg Grundy and his genius with formats, which helped ignite my creative passion,” said 2022 AACTA Reg Grundy Award Judge, Steve Oemcke. I’m really excited to join this group of highly regarded industry experts, to help mentor the next generation of format creators. As the content world explodes across countless new global platforms - there’s never been a better time to be in the ideas business.

Previous recipients include Jason Chong, who took out last year’s top prize for his winning concept Stealing Second, and inaugural recipient Geraldine Coy and Bryan Cockerill were the beneficiaries of the first edition of the Award for the highly lauded concept Seven Pups. Stealing Second went on to be considered by the development department at Banijay and the pilot and sizzle reel, funded by the Reg Grundy Award, is ready for domestic commissioners.

“Being awarded the 2021 Reg Grundy Award has been incredibly positive for my career.  AACTA and the Reg Grundy judges have been extraordinarily supportive and encouraging in supporting my original idea and helping it develop into a rock-solid format before hitting the market.  The generosity they have afforded me - with their time, advice, and industry contacts - have shown a genuine interest in helping me and Stealing Second succeed,” said Jason Chong, 2021 AACTA Reg Grundy Award Recipient.

“The Reg Grundy Award is a development initiative that embodies Australia’s give-it-a-go attitude, and we encourage everyone toying with an idea for a show to enter. The appetite for shows that fit within the unscripted genre is only growing, and we think one of the best ways to find a fresh concept is by asking the Aussie audience what they want to see,” said Ivan Vukusic, AACTA’s Awards and Industry Development Manager.

Think you have Australia’s favourite show on your hands? Round 1 entries call for your show’s title, a logline (1 – 2 sentence description), and a synopsis that’s up to 1 page long by 5pm AEST Friday 14 October 2022.

For full eligibility requirements and entry details, please click here.


Don't Miss Out
Want to get updates from AACTA? Sign Up Below

Your cart

No items in your cart.