AACTA Awards

Byron Kennedy Award

The Byron Kennedy Award celebrates outstanding creative enterprise within the film and television industries. Determined annually by an appointed jury, the Award is given to an individual or organisation whose work embodies innovation and the relentless pursuit of excellence.

Presented by Kennedy Miller Mitchell in association with AACTA, the Award honours Dr George Miller's original filmmaking partner and MAD MAX co-creator Byron Kennedy, and includes a cash prize of $10,000.

Byron Kennedy Award recipients are dynamic and diverse. They include: filmmaker and film festival founder John Poulson; award-winning filmmaking duo Baz Luhrmann and Catherine Martin; cutting edge film technology/computer graphic imaging experts Animal Logic; multidisciplinary filmmaker Ivan Sen; cinematographer Adam Arkapaw; acclaimed virtual reality artist and filmmaker Lynette Wallworth; Oscar®-nominated collaborative filmmakers Martin Butler and Bentley Dean; and, most recently, Award-winning filmmaker, photographer and philanthropist Ian Darling AO, who is also the founder of Shark Island Institute, Good Pitch Australia and the Documentary Australia Foundation, with all of whom he shares the Award.

For a full list of Byron Kennedy recipients, click here.

Thanks to the generous support of our
partners and sponsors.


Don't Miss Out
Want to get updates from AACTA? Sign Up Below

Your cart

No items in your cart.