Media Room

Stars Come Out For The 2021 AACTA Awards Presented by Foxtel Group

Drumroll please:  AACTA announces its illustrious line-up of presenters, performers and guests.

Acclaimed actor and AACTA president Russell Crowe, Oscar®, BAFTA, and AACTA Award winning director Baz Luhrmann, AACTA Award Winner and Emmy Nominated Succession star Sarah Snook are among the galaxy of Australian stars presenting at this year’s AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel Group. 

Joining them on stage for the ceremony on Wednesday, December 8, are screen icons Sam Neill (Rams), Rachel Griffiths (Total Control), Jack Thompson (High Ground), Marta Dusseldorp (Wentworth), brothers Stephen and Bernard Curry, Phoebe Tonkin (Bloom) director Taika Waititi and the creator of The Newsreader, Michael Lucas.

Crowe said: “There’s no doubt it’s been a tough time – for our industry and the world at large. The 2021 AACTAs offer us the opportunity to come together and recognise those who have worked so hard and produced such high-quality entertainment for people at a time when they needed it most.”

Also featuring in what is sure to be a night of stellar entertainment at the iconic Sydney Opera House, will be musical performances from Lime Cordiale, Baker Boy and Steve Kilbey.

Lime Cordiale’s latest single, Apple Crumble, is a collaboration between the popular pop rock band and actor Idris Elba, who will feature in their performance at the Ceremony in a world-first exclusive. 

Also performing at the ceremony is rapper, dancer, artist and actor Danzal Baker --aka Baker Boy-- whose debut album Gela is out now.

Celebrating the lives of the entertainers and creatives who have died in the past year, singer Steve Kilbey will perform a solo acoustic version of The Church classic Under the Milky Way during the In Memoriam section of the broadcast. Named one of the most Australian songs of all time in Triple M’s Ozzest 100, and heard in the movie, The Dry, Kilbey has only performed this unique and haunting version of his 1988 hit a handful of times.

Other Australian screen stars attending include: Eric Bana, Deborah Mailman, Stephen Peacocke, Matt Nable, Nakkiah Lui, Simon Baker, Eliza Scanlen, Bojana Novakovic, Michelle Lim-Davidson, Toby Leonard Moore, Susie Youssef, Dave Hughes, Courtney Act, Celia Pacquola, Shane Jacobson, Amanda Keller, and Tom Gleeson.

The 2021 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel Group ceremony will be broadcast on its new home, Channel 10 at 7.30pm on Wednesday, December 8, and encored in the days following on FOX ARENA on FOXTEL, BINGE, and AACTA TV.


Don't Miss Out
Want to get updates from AACTA? Sign Up Below

Your cart

No items in your cart.