Media Room

AFI AACTA Announce New Chair Jack Christian

Jack Christian has been announced as the new Chairperson of the Australian Film Institute, the governing body of the Australian Academy of Cinema & Television Arts (AACTA). The Australian Academy sincerely thanks Keith Rodger who has served astutely as acting AFI Chairperson for the past 12 months.

As the incoming AFI Chair, Christian, who has served on the AFI Board since 2020, brings a wealth of rich industry experience and a notable track record to his new role. His extensive career spans two decades, during which he has financed and produced a multitude of film and series productions both within Australia and internationally. As the founder and CEO of prominent global financier Filmology Finance, Christian’s significant achievements and broad industry experience are key assets that will fuel AFI’s journey toward innovation and growth.

Reflecting on his appointment, Christian commented, "I am profoundly honoured and humbled to take on the role of Chairperson for the AFI AACTA. This Academy represents the pinnacle of cinematic and television artistry in Australia, and it's a privilege to be given an opportunity to shape its direction and future. As we chart the course ahead, I am acutely aware of the responsibility and trust placed in me by my peers and the larger AFI AACTA community. Together, we'll continue celebrating the profound stories our industry tells and expand our reach, ensuring Australian cinema and television are recognized and revered globally."

Christian also expressed his gratitude to his predecessor, stating, "A sincere thanks to Keith Rodger for his unwavering dedication and guidance. His extensive contributions during his interim term have continued to help fortify the AFI AACTA foundations."

Keith Rodger, who has been a member of the AFI Board since 2020 and a significant contributor to the Australian screen sector over recent decades, remains on the Board.

At the AFI's recent AGM, industry pioneers Nadia Tass and Jo Smith were both elected to the Board. Tass holds the distinction of being the second woman ever to receive the AFI Award for Best Director, an honour she earned for her directorial debut Malcolm. Additionally, she was bestowed the AFI Award for Best Film for the same project, a recognition she shared with David Parker. Smith, making a return to the Board after a two-year hiatus, is the steward of the Regal Cinema in Newcastle. Her diligent efforts were instrumental in rescuing the historic venue from the brink of demolition.

Foxtel Group’s Chief Content & Commercial Officer and BINGE Managing Director, Amanda Laing, has been appointed to the board along with Tony Petani. Jennifer Huby and Darren Dale have been reappointed. Both Noni Hazlehurst and Margaret Pomeranz exit the board after stellar contributions over many years.  

Amanda Laing, Chief Content & Commercial Officer, Foxtel Group & Managing Director BINGE, said, “I am honoured to join the AFI Board and such an esteemed group of board members. I take it on with great responsibility to help drive our Australian film and television culture, and the remarkable stories we produce, forward. I would also like to recognise my colleague and friend, the late Brian Walsh, who made a significant contribution to the Australian film and television industry, over many years as an AFI Board member.”

AFI AACTA CEO, Damian Trewhella said, “I extend heartfelt appreciation to Noni Hazlehurst and Margaret Pomeranz for their steadfast devotion and service to AFI AACTA. Their substantial endeavours have bolstered the Academy's bedrock, propelling us towards a trajectory of success. I’d also like to honour and remember the long-serving AFI AACTA Board member, Brian Walsh, who sadly passed earlier this year and whose notable contributions have been a beacon as we venture on a path that seeks to build upon his remarkable legacy.”

The AFI Board is made up of industry leading experts and executives who oversee the strategic direction of the organisation. The AFI Board is made of Jack Christian (Chair), Alan Finney, Nadia Tass, Jo Smith, Amanda Laing, Darren Dale, Keith Rodger, Jennifer Huby and Tony Petani. The Board is supported by the AACTA Management team and is led by President, Russell Crowe, Vice President Nicole Kidman, Patron Dr. George Miller, and Ambassador Cate Blanchett.


Don't Miss Out
Want to get updates from AACTA? Sign Up Below

Your cart

No items in your cart.