AACTA Winners & Nominees

AFI Past winners

By 1998, a subtle changing of the guard had occurred. Nominations and awards reflected the success of newly emerging producers, directors, writers, actors and technicians. This year, the four nominees for Best Film accounted for 37 of the 56 nominations. The Boys led the field with 13 nominations. The Interview and Head On each had 9 nominations and Radiance had 6.

Other multiple nominees were Oscar And Lucinda (7), In The Winter Dark (3), Dance Me To My Song (2), Amy (2) and Dead Letter Office (2).

In numerical terms, the most awarded film was Oscar And Lucinda, which scooped most of the technical awards. Best Costume Design went to Janet Patterson. Best Production Design was awarded to Luciana Arrighi, whose earlier collaborations with Gillian Armstrong had resulted in an award (My Brilliant Career) and a nomination (Starstruck). The award for Best Original Music went to the American composer Thomas Newman. Ben Osmo, Andrew Plain and Gethin Creagh were given the award for Best Sound. While Osmo and Creagh had already won multiple AFI Awards, this was Plain's first win after three nominations. Geoffrey Simpson’s award for Best Cinematography was his third from four nominations in this category.

Head On had one success in the Best Editing category. Jill Bilcock had won in this category with Strictly Ballroom and had been nominated for her work on StrikeboundEvil Angels and Muriel's Wedding. She had also won the Byron Kennedy Award in 1995.

Radiance also received one award when Deborah Mailman was named Best Lead Actress. This was her first nomination.

The Boys won four important awards. Toni Collette’s award for Best Supporting Actress was her third from four nominations. John Polson, who was named Best Supporting Actor, had been previously nominated for Barlow & Chambers: A Long Way From HomeBlood Oath and The Sum Of Us. He had won the Byron Kennedy award in 1997. The award for Best Adapted Screenplay went to Stephen Sewell at his first nomination. And Rowan Woods became one of a handful of directors to win in this category with his debut feature.

The Interview received the three other major awards. Hugo Weaving was named Best Lead Actor in an exceptionally strong field that included Ray Barrett (In The Winter Dark), Alex Dimitriades (Head On) and David Wenham (The Boys). He had previously won for Proof and had been nominated for The Adventures Of Priscilla: Queen Of The Desert. Best Original Screenplay was shared by Craig Monahan and Gordon Davie. It was the debut feature for both of them. The award for Best Film went to Producer Bill Hughes. Hughes had won two previous AFI Awards for the outstanding TV series Phoenix.

The non-feature category of unearthed some major talents. Kriv Stenders (Two/Out) won Best Short Fiction Film, while Wendy Chandler (Vengeance) took home Best Short Animation. The other Best Short Fiction Film nominees were Priscilla Cameron, Erica Glynn and Ivan Sen. All of these remarkable film makers were making their debuts.

Wildside dominated the television awards, taking Best Episode in a Television Drama Series (Steve Knapman), Best Screenplay in a Television Drama (Tim Pye), Best Direction in a Television Drama (Peter Andrikidis) and Best Actress in a Televison Drama (Rachael Blake). Knapman had won previously for The Leaving Of Liverpool and Andrikidis had been nominated four times for a number of G.P. episodes. It was a first nomination for Pye and for Blake.

The Byron Kennedy Award was shared by two remarkable and self-effacing people. They were casting agent Alison Barrett and colour grader Arthur Cambridge, both of whom were singularly skilled in their field as well as being selflessly committed to achieving the best result possible.

The Raymond Longford Award went to Actor Charles 'Bud' Tingwell in recognition of his distinguished contribution to Australian filmmaking over what were then almost fifty years.

1998 Winners & Nominees