AACTA Winners & Nominees

AFI Past winners

11 feature films had been entered in the 1981 AFI Awards. Since 1975, the highest number of features entered had been 17 in 1977 and the lowest, 10, in 1980. In 1982, a record 30 films were entered, with 18 of them securing nominations. These nominations were spread as never before.

Mad Max 2 led the list with 7 nominations that did not include Best Film. We Of The Never Never followed with 6 nominations. Lonely Hearts and Monkey Grip had 5 nominations, Goodbye Paradise was a finalist in 4 categories, and Moving Out, while overlooked in the Best Film category, had 4 nominations. Other multiple nominees were Norman Loves Rose (4), Starstruck (3), The Man From Snowy River (3), Heatwave (2) and The Pirate Movie (2).

The four nominees for Best Film were Lonely Hearts, Goodbye Paradise, We Of The Never Never and Monkey Grip. The New South Wales Film Corporation was principal backer of Goodbye Paradise, which gave them their fifth consecutive nomination for Best Film in their five-year history.

For the first time, but not the last, the most nominated film wasn't in the run for Best Film. Lonely Hearts took that award, despite failing to win in its other four categories.

George Miller won Best Direction for Mad Max 2, following his 1979 nomination for the original Mad Max. The other 1982 nominees in this category were Paul Cox (Lonely Hearts), Carl Schultz (Goodbye Paradise) and Michael Pattinson (Moving Out). Noni Hazlehurst won Best Lead Actress for Monkey Grip over Wendy Hughes (Lonely Hearts), Angela Punch-McGregor (We Of The Never Never) and the American actress Carol Kane (Norman Loves Rose). Noni had been previously nominated in 1981 for Fatty Finn.

As well as the directing prize, Mad Max 2 won four other awards. Norma Moriceau received her third award for Best Costume Design, coming from four nominations over five years. Graham (Grace) Walker got the prize for Best Art Direction. He had been nominated in 1980 for The Chain Reaction. The other two awards were for Best Editing and Best Sound.

The award for Best Cinematography went to the late Gary Hansen for We Of The Never Never. He had been previously nominated in 1980 for Manganinnie. Hansen died in a helicopter accident in August 1982 and the announcement of his award was greeted with tumultuous applause.

Ray Barrett had been named Best Supporting Actor in 1978 for The Chant Of Jimmie Blacksmith. This year, he was named Best Lead Actor for his superb performance in Goodbye Paradise. The other contenders were Norman Kaye (Lonely Hearts), 60 year-old Bill Kerr (Dusty) and 16 year old-Vince Colosimo (Moving Out). Bob Ellis and Denny Lawrence shared the Best Screenplay award for Goodbye Paradise. Ellis had won in 1978 for Newsfront and had been nominated with Anne Brooksbank in 1980 for Maybe This Time. It was Lawrence’s first nomination.

Two other feature films received awards. Warren Mitchell was named Best Supporting Actor for his performance in Norman Loves Rose and the Best Original Music award went to Bruce Rowland for The Man From Snowy River. Neither of these recipients had been previously nominated.

Angels Of War won Best Documentary, while fellow nominee Journey To The End Of The Night won the Jury Prize.

The Raymond Longford Award went to Eric Porter. Porter had first set up an animation company in 1930 and had expanded to produce series for American television. Between 1970 and 1972, he had produced Australia’s first animated feature film Marco Polo Junior Versus The Red Dragon, which had won two major prizes at the 1973 AFI awards.

1982 Winners & Nominees



  • Best Film
  • Winner:

    Lonely Hearts John B. Murray


    Goodbye Paradise Jane Scott
    Monkey Grip Patricia Lovell
    We Of The Never Never Greg Tepper

  • Best Achievement in Direction
  • Winner:

    Mad Max 2 George Miller


    Goodbye Paradise Carl Schultz
    Lonely Hearts Paul Cox
    Moving Out Michael Pattinson

  • Best Screenplay
  • Winner:

    Goodbye Paradise Bob Ellis, Denny Lawrence


    Lonely Hearts Paul Cox, John Clarke
    Moving Out Jan Sardi
    We Of The Never Never Peter Schreck

  • Best Achievement in Cinematography
  • Winner:

    We Of The Never Never Gary Hansen


    Mad Max 2 Dean Semler
    Monkey Grip David Gribble
    The Man From Snowy River Keith Wagstaff

  • Best Achievement in Editing
  • Winner:

    Mad Max 2 David Stiven, Tim Wellburn, Michael Balson, Christopher Plowright, George Miller


    Heatwave John Scott
    Monkey Grip David Huggett
    Next Of Kin Max Lemon

  • Best Achievement in Sound
  • Winner:

    Mad Max 2 Roger Savage, Bruce Lamshed, Byron Kennedy, Lloyd Carrick, Marc van Buuren, Penn Robinson, Andrew Steuart


    Heatwave Lloyd Carrick, Greg Bell, Peter Fenton
    Moving Out G. White, Martin Jeffs, Julian Ellingworth, Grant Stuart
    The Man From Snowy River Terry Rodman, Gary Wilkins, Bob Litt

  • Best Music Score
  • Winner:

    The Man From Snowy River Bruce Rowland


    Mad Max 2 Brian May
    Starstruck Phil Judd, William Miller, Dennis James, Mark Moffat
    We Of The Never Never Peter Best

  • Best Achievement in Art Direction
  • Winner:

    Mad Max 2 Graham Walker


    Squizzy Taylor Logan Brewer
    Starstruck Brian Thomson
    The Return Of Captain Invincible David Kopping

  • Best Achievement in Costume Design
  • Winner:

    Mad Max 2 Norma Moriceau


    Starstruck Luciana Arrighi, Terry Ryan
    The Pirate Movie Aphrodite Kondos
    We Of The Never Never Camilla Rountree

  • Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
  • Winner:

    Goodbye Paradise Ray Barrett


    Dusty Bill Kerr
    Lonely Hearts Norman Kaye
    Moving Out Vince Colosimo

  • Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
  • Winner:

    Monkey Grip Noni Hazlehurst


    Lonely Hearts Wendy Hughes
    Norman Loves Rose Carol Kane
    We Of The Never Never Angela Punch-McGregor

  • Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
  • Winner:

    The Pirate Movie Garry McDonald


    Norman Loves Rose Warren Mitchell
    Far East John Bell
    Going Down David Argue

  • Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
  • Winner:

    Fighting Back Kris McQuade


    Monkey Grip Alice Garner
    Norman Loves Rose Myra de Groot
    Norman Loves Rose Sandy Gore