Voting in the AACTA Awards determines which film and television performers, practitioners, and productions will be honoured with Australia's highest screen accolade, an AACTA Award.

Voting is exclusive to AFI | AACTA members.

AACTA members – screen industry professionals who have undergone a process of accreditation to determine their individual areas of expertise, as evidenced through screen credits, CVs and other supporting documentation – vote across all categories, ensuring that those best qualified to recognise excellence within their craft specialisations do so, in turn ensuring that the AACTA Awards represent the pinnacle of film and television achievement in Australia.

AFI members (open to all) may vote in the Short Fiction Film and Short Animation categories.

Jury Voting

Juries of highly experienced screen professionals from a cross-section of crafts are formed to determine the nominees and winners in a selection of AACTA Award categories. Read more about AACTA Juries.

AACTA Member Voting

As part of their accreditation process, AACTA members are allocated into one or more of AACTA's 15 chapters, which each represent a different area of screen craft specialisation (for example screenwriting, editing, directing). Chapter allocation determines each member's voting rights.

In line with best-practice international models, AACTA members vote on the Feature Films in Competition via a two round voting model. To best acknowledge experience and accreditation within chapters, weighting is employed across Round One and Round Two voting.

AACTA acknowledges that it may not be possible for voting members to view all Feature Films in Competition. Therefore in Round One, AACTA will continue to adopt a weighted voting strategy to reflect the number of films seen by each voting member.

Further voting details for the 7th AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel will be available in July 2017.

AFI Member Voting

AFI members have the opportunity to vote for the winner of the Best Short Fiction Film and Best Short Animation during Round One voting.