AACTA International Awards

AACTA International Awards

Russell Crowe and Meryl Streep

Inaugural AACTA International Awards, Los Angeles, 2012

The AACTA International Awards are held annually in Los Angeles and recognise film excellence regardless of geography. The Awards are determined by our AACTA International Chapter, which is comprised of over 140 of Australia’s most recognised filmmakers and executives who vote across seven categories: Best Film, Best Direction, Best Screenplay, Best Lead Actor, Best Lead Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress.

Around half of the AACTA International Chapter are also members of The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (the Oscars), and the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA), and include members from the Screen Actors Guild (SAG) and the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA). They come from a range of crafts and have a wealth of local and international experience.

The Awards ceremony attracts Australian and international guests, including actors, filmmakers, studio executives, film distributors and media. Past winners of AACTA International Awards have included Meryl Streep, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro, Quentin Tarantino, David O. Russell and Jacki Weaver.

“We are delighted by the reception the Awards have received from the international community.  Australian performers and filmmakers have welcomed having this platform which allows them to take part in the international awards conversation, and to recognise and celebrate Australian talents alongside their international peers.” AACTA President and actor, Geoffrey Rush

3rd AACTA International Awards

Alfonso Cuaron

3rd AACTA International Awards, Los Angeles, 2014

The 3rd AACTA International Awards were announced in L.A. in January 2014. Hosted by AACTA President Geoffrey Rush, attending recipients included Cate Blanchett, David O. Russell, Michael Fassbender, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Alfonso Cuarón.

For a full list of nominees and winners please click here.

2nd AACTA International Awards

2nd AACTA International Awards Winners

2rd AACTA International Awards, Los Angeles, 2013

The 2nd AACTA International Awards were announced in L.A. in January 2013. Attending recipients included cast and crew of Silver Linings Playbook, such as Robert De Niro and Jacki Weaver, and the Awards were hosted by Russell Crowe.

Inaugural AACTA International Awards

Nicole and Meryl on Stage

Inaugural AACTA International Awards, Los Angeles, 2012

The inaugural AACTA International Awards were announced in L.A. in January 2012. Attending recipients included Meryl Streep, awarded the AACTA International Award for Best Actress for her role in The Iron Lady, and cast and crew of The Artist, which received three Awards - Best Film for producer Thomas Langmann, Best Direction, Michel Hazanavicius, and Best Actor, Jean Dujardin.

A star-studded line up of Australian talent also attended the inaugural event, with presenters including AACTA President, Geoffrey Rush, Nicole Kidman and Russell Crowe.