Media Room

Your Votes Are In! The Top 5 Audience Choice Nominees Revealed

AACTA is thrilled to announce the nominees for the Audience Choice Awards with winners announced on Wednesday December 8 at the iconic Sydney Opera House

Today, the Australian Academy of Cinema Television Arts (AACTA)is delighted to announce the top five nominees for the 2021 Audience Choice Awards.  Now in its second year, Audience Choice Awards allows the viewing public the opportunity to vote for their favourite actors, films and TV shows from the past year.

Following an online poll, five nominees in seven categories including Favourite Actor (both male and female), Favourite Film and Favourite Television Drama have been determined. The winners will be announced at the 2021 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel Group Ceremony, on Wednesday December 8 in addition to the peer-voted awards.

And the nominees are:

Favourite Actor:

  • Eric Bana
  • Asher Keddie
  • Deborah Mailman
  • Celia Pacquola
  • Pamela Rabe

Favourite Television Drama:

  • Clickbait – Netflix
  • Home & Away – Seven Network
  • Jack Irish – ABC
  • Royal Flying Doctor Service (RFDS) – Seven Network
  • Wentworth – Foxtel

Favourite Film:

  • A Sunburnt Christmas
  • The Dry
  • Mortal Kombat
  • Penguin Bloom
  • Peter Rabbit 2

Favourite Television Host:

  • Carrie Bickmore – The Project – Network Ten
  • Hamish Blake – LEGO® Masters Australia – Nine Network
  • Costa Georgiadis – Gardening Australia – ABC
  • Tom Gleeson – Hard Quiz – ABC
  • Adam Hills – Spicks and Specks – ABC

Favourite Competition Reality Show:

  • Australian Survivor: Brains V Brawn – Network Ten 
  • The Block – Nine Network
  • Lego Masters – Nine Network
  • MasterChef Australia – Network Ten
  • The Voice Australia – Seven Network

Favourite Digital Comedy Creator:

  • Christian Hull
  • Jimmy Rees
  • Millie Ford
  • Sam Cotton
  • Sooshi Mango

Favourite Entertainment Show:

  • Anh's Brush with Fame – ABC
  • Bondi Rescue – Network Ten
  • Gardening Australia – ABC
  • Gogglebox Australia – Foxtel/Network Ten
  • Have you Been Paying Attention? – Network Ten  

The 2021 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel Group ceremony will be broadcast on its new home, Channel 10 at 7.30pm on Wednesday, December 8, and encored in the days following on FOX ARENA on FOXTEL, BINGE, and AACTA TV. 


To view the full list of nominees for 2021, click here.

For images and assets, click here.


Don't Miss Out
Want to get updates from AACTA? Sign Up Below

Your cart

No items in your cart.