Media Room

Winners announced for the 11th AACTA International Awards

Nicole Kidman, Kate Winslet and Benedict Cumberbatch among the winners announced today for the AACTA International Awards. 

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) announced the winners for the 11th AACTA International Awards today, honouring the world’s best achievements in screen excellence.

The Power of the Dog, the western psychological drama written, produced, and directed by AACTA Award-winner Jane Campion, walked away with three wins; including Best Film, Best Lead Actor in Film for Benedict Cumberbatch, and Best Supporting Actor in Film for Australian actor Kodi Smit-Mcphee.

AACTA International Award-winning actor, Benedict Cumberbatch, spoke highly of the Australian film industry, “I am so humbled and grateful to receive your Best Actor Award… To get this from your industry, and what an industry, you are world leaders, and your exports are iconic, and trailblazing, and inspirational, and have been to me throughout my career.”

Kate Winslet added yet another award to her impressive repertoire, winning the AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actress in a Series for her portrayal of Mare Sheehan in Mare of Easttown. The actress previously won an AACTA Award for Best Lead Actress in a Film for the Australian film The Dressmaker in 2015

“I have always felt so supported by AACTA, I feel sometimes a bit like an honorary Australian because you have acknowledged me before now and it always means a huge amount to be included, to be brought into your film and television community in this way means a lot. I have such admiration for the skill of actors and filmmakers in Australia, so thank you.” – AACTA International Award-winning actress, Kate Winslet

Australian Actress Nicole Kidman won her 7th AACTA (formerly AFI) Award for her compelling portrayal of Lucille Ball in Being the Ricardos. In addition, fellow Australian Murray Bartlett took home the award for Best Lead Actor in a Series for his dynamic performance of Armond in 2021’s hit show The White Lotus. The White Lotus also won the award for Best Comedy Series, with global sensation Succession winning Best Drama Series.

Nicole Kidman, AACTA International Award-winning actress says, “This is an enormous honour to accept this award…It means so much to have this acknowledged by my Australian film peers...Thank you AACTA. Thank you Australia. I'm completely chuffed.” 

“I am thrilled and honoured to be celebrated in Australia, my home, by Australians who feel like family to me and by the Australian film and TV industry that inspired me my whole life and continues to inspire me. Thank you, it’s a very meaningful recognition for me.” – AACTA International Award-winning actor, Murray Bartlett. 

Belfast and Dune were also recognised, with Judi Dench honoured for Best Supporting Actress in Film for Belfast, and Denis Villeneuve picking up the award for Best Direction in Film for Dune.

AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said: “Congratulations to all of this year’s winners. After another challenging year for our industry, it’s fantastic that we are able to honour the films and TV shows that have kept us entertained at a time we’ve needed it most. The calibre of nominees is outstanding, and we are overjoyed by the Australian representation across both film and TV. We wish this year’s winners and nominees all of the best throughout the 2022 Award season and look forward to seeing what they do next.” 

NSW Minister for Tourism Stuart Ayres said: “Sydney and NSW are home to some of the world’s best filming locations and have proven to be world-class destinations for screen production. It is fantastic to see this creativity triumph over adversity of recent times to deliver an incredible award-winning line-up of film and television productions. I congratulate all the winners of this year’s AACTA International Awards for the dedication and innovation to their craft that these awards represent. The AACTA International Awards underscore the importance of the screen industry to the NSW visitor economy, which we look forward to providing continued support to ensure its ongoing success.”


For a full list of AACTA Award Winners and Nominees, click here.

View the winner acceptance speeches via AACTA’s YouTube Channel.


Don't Miss Out
Want to get updates from AACTA? Sign Up Below

Your cart

No items in your cart.