Media Room

#SocialShorts launches for 2017

AFI | AACTA today launched their national online short film competition #SocialShorts, which showcases Australia’s top short filmmaking talent.

Now in its fourth year, #SocialShorts provides a platform for short filmmakers to have their films seen, shared and acknowledged by film enthusiasts and the Australian film industry. The competition will run for three weeks across three categories – Comedy, Drama and Open – with each category owning the spotlight for one week exclusively.

The winning filmmakers in each category will receive industry recognition, a cash prize, an AFTRS short course voucher and tickets to the 7th AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel | Industry Luncheon in Sydney, where they will have the opportunity to network with industry leaders, as well as a mentorship with our #SocialShorts ambassadors.

2017 marks a record breaking year for #SocialShorts with 65 films competing. Many of these films are already national and international film festival favourites, including FOUND and DEEPEST SYMPATHY which both screened as part of Festival de Cannes’ Short Film Corner.

Among the student films competing are the 2017 Tropfest Junior winning short film PUPILS, the 2017 Australian Directors’ Guild Award winning DISABUSED and TO THE TOP!, which swept the 2015 Sydney Film School Festival Awards.

The competing films also see a number of big names in Australian film starring, including Guy Pearce in LORNE, Shane Jacobson in ALL YOU CAN BE, David Gulpilil and Mark Coles Smith in MESSIAH, Abby Earl in KILL OFF, and John Jarratt in HERO.

AFI | AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said the exceptional growth in the short film space highlights the importance of competitions such as #SocialShorts, which provide opportunities for filmmakers to have their work seen.

“Our film industry is full of talented filmmakers producing great short films, and with a record breaking 65 short films participating in #SocialShorts this year it’s great to see this space growing,” said Trewhella. “Short films so often serve as calling cards and stepping stones for our brightest emerging filmmakers, and #SocialShorts plays an important role in promoting and nurturing this emerging film talent by providing a platform for filmmakers to have their work seen, shared and acknowledged by the industry, and the wider audience.”

AFI | AACTA also welcomes back returning #SocialShorts ambassadors Matilda Brown and members of the Blue Tongue Films group – Joel and Nash Edgerton, David Michôd, Kieran Darcy-Smith, Luke Doolan, Mirrah Foulkes and Spencer Susser.

Audiences can vote for their favourite short films in each category on and are then encouraged to share their favourite short films across social media. The winning film for each category will be announced at the start of the following week.

The voting audience also has the chance to win a double pass to the 7th AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel | Ceremony & Official After Party held at The Star Event Centre in Sydney on Wednesday 6 December, including flights and overnight accommodation.

For further information on #SocialShorts and to vote, visit


Thanks to the generous support of our 
partners and sponsors.


Don't Miss Out
Want to get updates from AACTA? Sign Up Below

Your cart

No items in your cart.