Media Room

6th AACTA Awards winners announced at star-studded Ceremony in Sydney

All eyes were on Sydney tonight, with Australia’s top screen achievements recognised at the 6th AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel, held at The Star Event Centre in Sydney.

Australia’s top film and television performers and practitioners came together to honour the industry’s achievements, with a total of twenty Awards presented, following the thirty-three Awards announced at Monday’s Industry Luncheon presented by Blue Post.

Some of Australia’s top film and television stars took to the stage to present Awards, including AACTA President Geoffrey Rush, Rose Byrne, George Miller, Jessica Mauboy, Stephen Curry, Marta Dusseldorp, Jessica Marais, and Culture Club’s Boy George.

Among the show’s highlights were the presentation of the AACTA Longford Lyell Award to Paul Hogan and the AACTA Trailblazer Award to Isla Fisher.

In addition to the presentation of the AACTA Awards, the evening’s musical performances were outstanding, including iconic UK pop group Culture Club, who performed a medley of their greatest hits.

Jessica Mauboy opened the Ceremony with an incredible performance of Tainted Love, while Dami Im showed off her classical piano skills during a tribute for the 20th anniversary of Australian film SHINE.

Paul Kelly gave a moving performance to accompany the ‘In Memoriam’ segment of the Ceremony alongside his daughters, Madeline and Memphis, and Charlie Owen.



HACKSAW RIDGE followed their impressive four Awards at Monday’s Industry Luncheon with a further five Awards including: Best Film presented by Foxtel and Best Original Screenplay.

Mel Gibson received the AACTA Award for Best Direction, fourteen years after receiving his last AFI or AACTA accolade, the AFI Global Achievement Award.

Receiving Awards for their performances in HACKSAW RIDGE were Andrew Garfield, for Best Lead Actor, and Hugo Weaving, receiving the AACTA Award for Best Supporting Actor for the second year in a row.

THE DAUGHTER scooped up the remaining two Awards for performance, totaling three Awards for the 6th AACTA Awards season.

Miranda Otto received her first AACTA Award for Best Supporting Actress, following five previous AFI Award nominations. Odessa Young received the AACTA Award for Best Lead Actress at just eighteen, making her the youngest of the seven Actresses to win the Award for their Feature Film debut.

Oscar® and Emmy Award winner Eva Oren’s powerful documentary, CHASING ASYLUM, received the AACTA Award for Best Feature Length Documentary.



Elizabeth Debicki and Samuel Johnson both won their second AFI or AACTA Awards tonight, receiving the AACTA Awards for Best Lead Actress in a Television Drama for THE KETTERING INCIDENT (Foxtel, Showcase) and Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama for MOLLY (Seven Network), respectively.

THE KETTERING INCIDENT (Foxtel, Showcase) also received the AACTA Award for Best Telefeature or Mini Series, while the hugely popular WENTWORTH (Foxtel, SoHo) received the AACTA Award for Best Television Drama Series.

In the comedy category, ABC’s UPPER MIDDLE BOGAN earned its first AACTA Award for Best Television Comedy Series. Also receiving their first Awards were Sarah Scheller and Alison Bell, who received the AACTA Award for Best Screenplay in Television for ABC COMEDY SHOWROOM – THE LETDOWN.

Having received its fifth consecutive nomination, MASTERCHEF AUSTRALIA (Network Ten) scooped up the AACTA Award for Best Reality Television Series for the second year in a row.

GRUEN (ABC) received the AACTA Award for Best Light Entertainment Television Series, while DESTINATION FLAVOUR SCANDINAVIA (SBS) received the inaugural AACTA Award for Best Lifestyle Television Program.



A Ceremony highlight was the presentation of Australia’s highest screen accolade, the AACTA Longford Lyell Award, to Paul Hogan AM.

Among Paul Hogan’s screen credits, which span four decades, are: the iconic CROCODILE DUNDEE, for which he received Oscar and BAFTA nominations, and won the Golden Globe Award for Best Actor – Motion Picture Musical or Comedy; THE PAUL HOGAN SHOW, which saw him win two Logie Awards for Best Comedy Performer; and his true-blue Australian advertisements, including the Australian Tourism ad which spawned the catchphrase “throw another shrimp on the barbie”.

The Award was presented to Paul Hogan by Shane Jacobson, with touching tributes from Michael Caton, Ernie Dingo, Delvene Delaney, John Brown, Peter Faiman, Adam Hills and Dave Hughes from the top of the Sydney Harbour Bridge.



Recognising the achievements of screen practitioners who inspire others with their portfolio of work, the AACTA Trailblazer Award was presented to Isla Fisher, who attended the Ceremony with her husband Sacha Baron Cohen.

An AACTA Award and Logie nominated actress and self-described ‘comic-actress’, Isla is a strong advocate for comedic roles for women in Hollywood and is also an acclaimed dramatic actress and successful author.



Acclaimed artist and director, Lynette Wallworth was the recipient of the Byron Kennedy Award, which celebrates outstanding creative enterprise within the screen industry and includes a $10,000 prize. Known for her innovative use of virtual reality, Lynette’s career spans the globe, masterfully moving across continents and uniting international audiences.


See all the nominees and winners here.


The AACTA Awards are proudly supported by the New South Wales Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.


Don't Miss Out
Want to get updates from AACTA? Sign Up Below

Your cart

No items in your cart.