AACTA Winners & Nominees

AFI Past winners

The final year of the 20th century launched the international careers of more new faces. The nominees for Best Film were a strong and evenly matched group. Chopper was nominated in 10 categories, Looking For Alibrandi in 9, and both Bootmen and Better Than Sex in 8. The other multiple nominees were Me, Myself, I (4), 15 Amore (4), Russian Doll (2), Innocence (2), My Mother Frank (2) and The Magic Pudding (2).

Best Original Screenplay was awarded to Stavros Kazantzidis and Allanah Zitserman for Russian Doll. Kazantzidis had won Best Short Fiction Film in 1992 for Road To Alice and had a Best Film nomination for Love And Other Catastrophes (both as Stavros Efthymiou). This was Zitserman’s first AFI Award nomination.

Bootmen made an almost clean sweep of the technical awards, winning in the categories of Best Costume Design, Best Production Design, Best Original Music, Best Sound and Best Cinematography. Murray Picknett’s award for Best Production Design followed the same award for Passion in 1999. The award for Original Music went to Cezary Skubiszewski, who had previous nominations for Lilian's Story and Two Hands. Steve Mason received the award for Best Cinematography, following nominations for Strictly Ballroom and Broken HighwayBootmen also marked the feature debut of actor Sam Worthington, who was nominated as Best Lead Actor.

Chopper won three major awards. Simon Lyndon, who was named Best Supporting Actor, had a previous nomination in this category for Blackrock. Eric Bana’s Best Lead Actor award resulted from his first nomination and this launched his stellar international career. Writer/Director Andrew Dominik received his first nominations in Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Direction and won the latter category.

The award for Best Adapted Screenplay went to Melina Marchetta, who had adapted Looking For Alibrandi from her own novel. As Chopper swept the male acting categories, so did Looking For Alibrandi win the two female acting awards. The Best Supporting Actress award went to Greta Scacchi and Best Lead Actress to Pia Miranda. It was the first AFI Award nomination for both. Looking For Alibrandi was also Martin Connor’s first feature as editor. Since 1990 there had been a strong, though not infallible, connection between the winner of the Best Editing award and the Best Film winner. Continuing this tradition, Looking For Alibrandi was the winner in both categories, with the Best Film award being presented to Robyn Kershaw. She and Alibrandi’s other four award winners were all first-time nominees, as were two of the three award winners for Chopper. The year 2000 completed a remarkable decade of success involving many newcomers to the film industry.

In the non-feature category, Adam Elliot’s Brother won the awards for Best Short Animation and Best Screenplay in a Short Film. The screenplay award was his first from two nominations. The short animation award was his third from three nominations.

The awards for Best Documentary and Best Direction in a Documentary went to The Diplomat, which was directed by Tom Zubrycki. His fellow Best Direction nominees were Terry Carlyon (A Death In The Family), Amiel Courtin–Wilson (Chasing Buddha) and Wain Fimeri (Pozieres). Each of them would do outstanding work in the years ahead.

The television awards were dominated by Grass Roots, which won five awards. Four of them were Best Episode in a Television Drama Series (John Eastway), Best Direction in a Television Drama (Peter Andrikidis), Best Screenplay in a Television Drama (Geoffrey Atherden) and Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama Series (Geoff Morell). These awards were for work in the first season's final episode (The Whole Year). Lois Ramsey received an award as Best Supporting Actress in a Television Drama Series for another episode (Late September). Producer John Eastway’s award for Best Episode in a Television Drama was from one of three nominations that he received in this category in 2000. The award for Best Direction in a Television Drama was Andrikidis’ second award from seven nominations. Atherden had been nominated for two episodes this year. Like Eastway and Atherden, actor Geoff Morell was nominated for more than one episode. Lois Ramsey’s award came from her first nomination in a forty-year career and was a popular victory.

The Byron Kennedy Award was shared by Popcorn Taxi and IF Magazine, who were cited as “fuelled by reckless enthusiasm and love of cinema”.

The Raymond Longford Award was presented to editor, documentary maker and producer Anthony Buckley for his significant achievements in Australian film making.

2000 Winners & Nominees







  • Atlab Australia AFI Award for Best Foreign Film
  • Winner:

    American Beauty Bruce Cohen, Dan Jinks


    All About My Mother Agustin Almodovar
    Being John Malkovich Michael Stipe, Sandy Stern
    The Sixth Sense Kathleen Kennedy, Frank Marshall, Barry Mendel

  • Raymond Longford Award
  • Winner:

    Anthony Buckley AO (Producer)

  • Byron Kennedy Award
  • Winner:

    Matt Wheeldon, Gary Doust (Popcorn Taxi)
    Stephen Jenner, David Barda (IF Magazine)

  • Gusto Music Open Craft AFI Award
  • Winner:

    Hurt (for Original Concept) Phillip Crawford


    Intransit (for Special Effects) Mike Daly
    The Other Days Of Ruby Rae (Acting) Magda Hughes
    Uncle Chatzkel (for Original Score) Guy Gross

  • Complete Post AFI Award for Open Craft - Television
  • Winner:

    On The Beach (for Set Design) (Seven Network) Roger Ford, Sally Shepherd


    Beastmaster, Series 1 - Episode 8, 'The Last Unicorn' (for Cinematography) (Seven Network) Mark Wareham
    Halifax f.p, Series 5 - 'A Person Of Interest' (for Cinematography) (Nine Network) Brent Crockett ACS
    On The Beach (for Cinematography) (Seven Network) Martin McGrath

  • SLATS AFI Young Actor's Award
  • Winner:

    Mallboy Kane McNay


    Eugenie Sandler P.I - Episode 2 (ABC) Xaris Miller