Australian Academy announces winners for the 9th AACTA International Awards

The winners for the 9th AACTA International Awards at a star-studded Ceremony held at Mondrian Los Angeles, with Adam Driver, Bong Joon Ho, Saoirse Ronan, Quentin Tarantino and Taika Waititi among winners in attendance.

View all comments

The Award for Best Film went to the South Korean black comedy thriller PARASITE, written and directed by Bong Joon Ho who accepted the Australian Academy’s highest Award. The film also received the AACTA Award for Best Asian Film at the AACTA Awards in Sydney last month.

ONCE UPON A TIME… IN HOLLYWOOD took home two awards with Quentin Tarantino winning Best Direction and Brad Pitt winning Best Supporting Actor.

The lead performance awards went to Adam Driver, who won Best Lead Actor for his portrayal of stage director Charlie Barber in MARRIAGE STORY and Saoirse Ronan, who won Best Lead Actress for her performance as the outspoken tomboy, Jo March in LITTLE WOMEN.

First-time AACTA nominee Taika Waititi received the Award for Best Screenplay for the World War II satire JOJO RABBIT, which has also seen Waititi earn his first two Golden Globe® nominations.

Following a record-breaking double nomination in the Supporting Actress category, Margot Robbie took home the Award for Best Supporting Actress for biographical drama BOMBSHELL, marking the second AACTA International Award received by the Australian actress.

Adam Driver, Bong Joon Ho, Song Kang Ho, Saoirse Ronan, Quentin Tarantino & Taika Waititi as well as producers David Heyman and Shannon McIntosh were among the nominees and VIP guests in attendance at the exclusive Ceremony.

Joining host Jason Dundas (THE WATCHLIST, ENTERTAINMENT TONIGHT) on stage to present awards were some of the industry’s leading film and television talent, including Niki Caro (WHALE RIDER, MULAN), Bill Mechanic (HACKSAW RIDGE, CORALINE), Phillip Noyce (SALT, THE BONE COLLECTOR) and Josh Thomas (PLEASE LIKE ME, EVERYTHING’S GONNA BE OKAY).

View Red Carpet images here.

See full list of Nominees & Winners here.

Like it? Share it!