

## THE LONGFORD LYELL AWARD

First presented in 1968, the Longford Lyell Award (formerly the Raymond Longford Award) is the highest accolade the Australian Academy can bestow on an individual. The award is given to a person who has shown an unwavering commitment over many years to excellence in the film and television industries, and who has, through their body of work to date, contributed substantially to the enrichment of Australian screen culture.

The Award honours great Australian film pioneer Raymond Longford and his partner in filmmaking and in life, Lottie Lyell.

## **AFI Raymond Longford Award Recipients**

Russell Boyd (Cinematographer)

Peter Weir (Director)

John Meillon – Awarded posthumously (Actor)

1988

1989

1990

Those awarded the Raymond Longford Award under the AFI between 1968 and 2010 are as follows.

1968 lan Dunlop (Director) 1970 **Stanley Hawes** (Director/Producer) 1976 Ken G. Hall (Director) 1977 Charles Chauvel (Director/Producer/Writer) 1978 Paulette McDonagh, Phyllis McDonagh and Isobel McDonagh (Filmmakers) 1979 **Jerzy Toeplitz** (Founding Director of AFTRS) 1980 Tim Burstall (Director) 1981 Phillip Adams (Producer/Journalist) 1982 **Eric Porter** (Animator) 1983 **Bill Gooley** (Film Technician) 1984 David Williams (Exhibitor/Distributor) 1985 Don Crosby (Actor) 1986 **Barry Jones MP** (Federal Minister & first Chairman of AFTRS) 1987 **Paul Riomfalvy** (First Director of the NSW Film Corporation)



1991	Fred Schepisi (Director)
1992	Lee Robinson (Director)
1993	Sue Milliken (Producer)
1994	Jack Thompson (Actor)
1995	Dr George Miller (Director)
1997	Jan Chapman (Producer)
1998	Charles 'Bud' Tingwell (Actor)
1999	John Politzer (Exhibitor/Distributor)
2000	Anthony Buckley AO (Producer)
2001	David Stratton (Film Critic)
2002	Patricia Edgar (Producer)
2003	Ted Robinson (Writer/Producer/Director/Choreographer)
2004	Patricia Lovell (Producer)
2005	Ray Barrett (Actor)
2006	lan Jones (Writer/Producer/Director)
2007	David Hannay (Producer)
2008	Dione Gilmour (Natural History Filmmaker)
2009	Geoffrey Rush (Actor)
2010	Reg Grundy AC OBE (Broadcaster/Producer/Entrepreneur)

## **AACTA Raymond Longford Award Recipients**

In 2011, the AFI established the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA). Therefore, **Don McAlpine** was the first screen practitioner to be awarded the AACTA Raymond Longford Award.

Inaugural AACTA Awards (2012) **Don McAlpine** (Cinematographer)

2nd AACTA Awards (2013) Al Clark (Producer)

3rd AACTA Awards (2014) **Jacki Weaver** (Actress)



## **AACTA Longford Lyell Award Recipients**

Originally known as the Raymond Longford Award, in honour of the great Australian film pioneer Raymond Longford. The name of the Award was changed in 2015 following extensive industry consultation, in recognition of Raymond Longford's partner in filmmaking and in life, Lottie Lyell. Therefore, **Andrew Knight** was the first screen practitioner to be awarded the AACTA Longford Lyell Award.

4th AACTA Awards (2015) Andrew Knight (Writer/Producer)

5th AACTA Awards (2015) Cate Blanchett (Actress)

6th AACTA Awards (2016) Paul Hogan (Actor)