

Media Release

Immediate Release

Australian Academy announces nominations for the 9th AACTA International Awards

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) today announced the nominees for the 9th AACTA International Awards, honouring the best achievements in film excellence, regardless of geography.

A total of 15 films received nominations this year with **THE IRISHMAN** leading the way with six nominations, followed by **ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD** with five nominations, then **JOKER** and **PARASITE** both receiving four nominations each. The four noteworthy films also compete for the International AACTA Award for Best Film alongside Australian film **THE KING**, which recently won four Awards at the 2019 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel in Sydney.

Also recognised at the Sydney-hosted AACTA Awards was Best Film nominee **PARASITE**, which took home the Award for Best Asian Film presented by Eureka International Group. The film's producer **Kwak Sin-ae** attended the ceremony in Australia to accept the prestigious award. **PARASITE** is now one of the most acclaimed films of 2019 winning over 40 International Awards to date.

AACTA International Award nominees, who also received Golden Globe nominations yesterday, include **Toni Collette** (KNIVES OUT), Nicole Kidman (BOMBSHELL) and Margot Robbie (BOMBSHELL, ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD), dominating the Best Supporting Actress category this year. This marks a first in AACTA International Awards history that Australians have received four of the five nominations within the same category. This includes another first for AACTA with **Robbie's** record-breaking double nomination within the same category.

"The AACTA International Awards honour film excellence on a global scale, acknowledging international excellence within the screen industry," said **AFI | AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella**. "As always, we are thrilled to see many of our talented Australian practitioners and performers nominated for AACTA International Awards this year and I congratulate all our nominees, wishing them every success during the upcoming awards season."

NOMINEES

AACTA International Award for Best Film

- THE IRISHMAN
- JOKER
- THE KING
- ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD
- PARASITE

AACTA International Award for Best Direction

- 1917 Sam Mendes
- THE IRISHMAN Martin Scorsese
- JOKER Todd Phillips
- ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD Quentin Tarantino
- PARASITE Bong Joon Ho

AACTA International Award for Best Screenplay

- THE IRISHMAN Steven Zaillian
- JOJO RABBIT Taika Waititi
- JOKER Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
- ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD Quentin Tarantino
- PARASITE Bong Joon ho, Jin Won Han

AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actor

- Christian Bale FORD V FERRARI
- Antonio Banderas PAIN AND GLORY
- Robert De Niro THE IRISHMAN
- Adam Driver MARRIAGE STORY
- Joaquin Phoenix JOKER

AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actress

- Awkwafina THE FAREWELL
- Scarlett Johansson MARRIAGE STORY
- Saoirse Ronan LITTLE WOMEN
- Charlize Theron BOMBSHELL
- Renée Zellweger JUDY

AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actor

- John Lithgow BOMBSHELL
- Al Pacino THE IRISHMAN
- Joe Pesci THE IRISHMAN
- Brad Pitt ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD
- Song Kang-Ho PARASITE

AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actress

- Toni Collette KNIVES OUT
- Nicole Kidman BOMBSHELL
- Florence Pugh LITTLE WOMEN
- Margot Robbie BOMBSHELL
- Margot Robbie ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD

- ENDS -

MEDIA ENQUIRIES

Australian Media Enquiries | NIXCo – P: +61 (02) 8399 0626, E: info@nixco.com.au
USA Media Enquiries | PR Dept – P: (323) 556-3100, E: chet@pr-dept.com
AFI | AACTA Media Enquiries | Jayne-Louise O'Connell – P: +61 (03) 9695 7222 | E: joconnell@afi.org.au

ABOUT THE AACTA INTERNATIONAL AWARDS

The AACTA International Awards recognise film excellence regardless of geography. The Awards are determined by the AACTA International Chapter which is made up of 150 Australian screen professionals with distinguished international credentials, many of whom are members of AMPAS and BAFTA. For more information on the AACTA International Awards, <u>click here</u>.

ABOUT AFI | AACTA

The AACTA Awards are a continuum of the Australian Film Institute (AFI) Awards, which were first presented 61 years ago in 1958. Past AFI Award recipients including Nicole Kidman, Russell Crowe, Eric Bana, Toni Collette, Dr. George Miller (AFI | AACTA Patron) and Cate Blanchett (AFI | AACTA Ambassador).

The AACTA Awards are proudly supported by the New South Wales Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

JOIN THE CONVERSATION

Official hashtag: #AACTAs | Facebook: /AACTAawards | Twitter: @aacta | Instagram: @aacta For further information about AFI | AACTA visit: www.aacta.org & AACTA Connect

Thanks to the generous support of our partners and sponsors:











