International Awards


The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) has announced the winners of the 9th AACTA International Awards at a star-studded Ceremony held at Mondrian Los Angeles.

Winning the Award for Best Film was the South Korean black comedy thriller PARASITE, written and directed by Bong Joon Ho who accepted the Australian Academy’s highest Award. The film also received the AACTA Award for Best Asian Film at the AACTA Awards in Sydney last month.

ONCE UPON A TIME... IN HOLLYWOOD took home two awards with Quentin Tarantino winning Best Direction and Brad Pitt winning Best Supporting Actor.

The lead performance awards went to Adam Driver, who won Best Lead Actor for his portrayal of stage director Charlie Barber in MARRIAGE STORY and Saoirse Ronan, who won Best Lead Actress for her performance as the outspoken tomboy, Jo March in LITTLE WOMEN.

First-time AACTA nominee Taika Waititi received the Award for Best Screenplay for the World War II satire JOJO RABBIT, which has also seen Waititi earn his first two Golden Globe® nominations.

Following a record-breaking double nomination in the Supporting Actress category, Margot Robbie took home the Award for Best Supporting Actress for biographical drama BOMBSHELL, marking the second AACTA International Award received by the Australian actress.

Adam Driver, Saoirse Ronan, Quentin Tarantino, Bong Joon Ho as well as producers David Heyman and Shannon McIntosh were among the nominees and VIP guests in attendance at the exclusive Ceremony.

Joining host Jason Dundas (THE WATCHLIST, ENTERTAINMENT TONIGHT) on stage to present awards were some of the industry’s leading film and television talent, including Niki Caro (WHALE RIDER, MULAN), Bill Mechanic (HACKSAW RIDGE, CORALINE), Phillip Noyce (SALT, THE BONE COLLECTOR) and Josh Thomas (PLEASE LIKE ME, EVERYTHING’S GONNA BE OKAY).

“This year we are thrilled to celebrate such a vast and vibrant group of winners, showcasing international excellence, irrespective of geography,” said AFI | AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella. “The AACTA International Awards continue to honour the best achievements in screen, adding a uniquely Australian voice to the international awards circuit. I congratulate all of the evening’s winners – with special congratulations to our Australian winner Margot Robbie – and wish them every success throughout the upcoming awards season.”

The AACTA Awards are proudly supported by the New South Wales Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.




Don't Miss Out
Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Your cart

No items in your cart.