International Awards


The 8th AACTA International Awards were held on Friday 4 January 2019 at The Mondrian Hotel in Los Angeles.

The star-studded Ceremony was hosted by Renee Bargh, with Nicole Kidman, Rami Malek, Glenn Close, Alfonso Cuarón, Emily Blunt, John Krasinski, and Olivia Colman among the winners, nominees and VIP guests in attendance.

The winners of the 8th AACTA International Awards were a truly international group, spanning continents, cultures and decades. Alfonso Cuarón’s ROMA won the AACTA International Awards for Best Film and Best Direction. Cuarón, who won the same two awards in 2014 for GRAVITY, now holds the record for the most AACTA International Awards won by an individual (a record previously held by Alejandro G. Iñárritu with three).

Period comedy-drama THE FAVOURITE also took home two awards, with Olivia Colman winning Best Lead Actress and writers Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara winning Best Screenplay.

Nicole Kidman won her second AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actress for BOY ERASED, marking the second time Kidman has won both the AACTA Award and AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actress for the same role, previously winning the awards in 2017 for LION.

The remaining two awards went to first-time AACTA Award winners Rami Malek, who won Best Lead Actor for BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY, and Mahershala Ali, who won Best Supporting Actor for GREEN BOOK.

In addition to the seven AACTA International Awards presented, Australian comedian HANNAH GADSBY was retrospectively presented with the AACTA Award for Best Performance in a Television Comedy. Gadsby won the Award at the 2018 AACTA Awards in Sydney for her critically acclaimed stand-up special NANETTE.

Highlights from the 8th AACTA International Awards were aired in Australia exclusively as part of Screen on Foxtel Arts, Foxtel’s high definition dedicated arts channel.

Don't Miss Out
Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Your cart

No items in your cart.