Reality Program

Reality Program entries for the 2020 AACTA Awards are now open.

Eligibility Requirements

In order to be eligible, a Reality Program must:

  • Be an Australian production produced for television, video-on-demand or subscription-video-on-demand;
  • Have had the first episode of the entered series / season broadcast in Australia for the first time between 27 October 2019 and 31 October 2020.
  • Be a substantially non-scripted television program which involves participants being placed in an environment or format in which the premise, circumstances or situations they encounter are structured and manipulated in an ongoing manner for the purposes of creating the program.
  • Have a potentially unlimited number of episodes, but no fewer than four episodes, each of which is no less than one half television hour in length.
  • An entrant can submit up to two episodes for judging. These episodes will be judged as a single entry for the Best Reality Series Award but as individual entries for all other Awards.

This definition excludes traditional news and current affairs programs (where the primary objective is to report rather than entertain), Entertainment Program, Lifestyle Program, Factual Entertainment Program, or Documentary or Factual Program.

For the avoidance of doubt, this definition does not include substantially non-scripted programs that consist of the Producers setting up a premise or initial situation that is then observed with minimal further intervention by the Producers. Please refer to Documentary or Factual Program for observational documentary Programs, or Entertainment Program for competition-based Programs that do not employ further rules, interventions or challenges.


Membership & Entry

A Program, Film, Episode or Season which has been previously entered into the Awards is ineligible for entry into the current or any future Awards.

Late entries will not be accepted.

In order to be eligible to enter a Reality Program, a minimum of four Award candidates listed on the form must be current AACTA members. In the event that fewer than four Award candidates are listed on the form, then all Award candidates listed must be current AACTA members.

You can become an AACTA member here.

Please refer to the 2020 AACTA Awards Rule Book and Materials Checklist for details of all rules, regulations, policies and required entry materials.


Image: Producer of AUSTRALIAN SURVIVOR: CHAMPIONS V CONTENDERS Amelia Fisk accepts the AACTA Award for Best Reality Program with the series winner Pia Miranda at the 2019 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel.

Login / Join To Enter

Thanks to the generous support of our
partners and sponsors.

Don't Miss Out
Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Your cart

No items in your cart.