Feature Length Documentary

Feature Length Documentary

Feature Length Documentary entries for the 8th AACTA Awards are now closed.

Eligibility Requirements

In order to be eligible, a Feature Length Documentary must be:

  • An Australian production.
  • Completed between 19 May 2017 and 27 May 2018.
  • A single self-contained non-fiction film longer than 60 minutes in duration that is a creative treatment of actuality intended primarily for cinema release.

Feature Length Documentaries intended primarily for television broadcast should enter the Documentary Television Program category.


Membership & Entry

Any productions entered into the AACTA Awards (or AFI Awards) for a previous year are ineligible.

Late entries will not be accepted.

In order to be eligible to enter the Feature Length Documentary category, a minimum of four Award candidates listed on the form must be current AACTA members. In the event that fewer than four Award candidates are listed on the form, then all Award candidates listed must be current AACTA members.

You can become an AFI or AACTA member here.

Please refer to the 8th AACTA Awards Rule Book for details of all rules, regulations and policies.

Please email the AACTA Awards Department awards@afi.org.au if you have any questions.


 Image: Kitty Green at the 7th AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel with the AACTA Award for Best Feature Length Documentary for CASTING JONBENET.

  • Entry Fee $630
  • Entries & Materials Deadline Sunday 3 June 2018, 11.59pm
  • Membership Requirements A minimum of four Award candidates listed on the entry must be current members.
  • Rules & Supporting Documents 8th AACTA Awards Rule Book
Don't Miss Out
Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Your cart

No items in your cart.