Feature Documentary entries for the 2020 AACTA Awards are now open.

Eligibility Requirements

In order to be eligible, a Feature Documentary must be:

  • An Australian production.
  • Completed between 28 May 2019 and 25 November 2020.
  • A single self-contained non-fiction film longer than 50 minutes in duration that is a creative treatment of actuality intended primarily for cinema release.

Documentaries intended primarily for television broadcast should enter the Documentary or Factual Program category, which is currently taking Expression of Interest entries via the Entry Portal.


Membership & Entry

A Program, Film, Episode or Season which has been previously entered into the Awards is ineligible for entry into the current or any future Awards.

Late entries will not be accepted.

In order to be eligible to enter the Documentary category, a minimum of four Award candidates listed on the form must be current AACTA members. In the event that fewer than four Award candidates are listed on the form, then all Award candidates listed must be current AACTA members.

You can become an AACTA member here.

Please refer to the 2020 AACTA Awards Rule Book and Materials Checklist for details of all rules, regulations, policies and required entry materials.


Image: THE AUSTRALIAN DREAM took home the 2019 AACTA Award for Best Documentary.

  • Entry Fee Budget over $1M - $730 Budget $500K - $1M - $600 Budget under $500K - $480
  • Entries & Materials Deadline Monday 27 July 2020, 11:59pm (AEST)
  • Rules & Supporting Documents 2020 AACTA Awards Rule Book
Login / Join To Enter

Thanks to the generous support of our
partners and sponsors.

Don't Miss Out
Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Your cart

No items in your cart.