AACTA Awards

AACTA International Awards Overview


Held annually in Los Angeles, the AACTA International Awards honour the best achievements in film excellence, regardless of geography, across seven categories: Best Film, Best Direction, Best Screenplay, Best Lead Actor, Best Lead Actress, Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress.

The AACTA International Awards add a uniquely Australian voice to the international awards circuit alongside the Oscars® and the BAFTAs.

The Awards honour our international screen peers and celebrate fellow Australians working in screen internationally. Past winners have included Meryl StreepAlfonso CuarónCate BlanchettRobert De NiroJennifer LawrenceQuentin TarantinoLeonardo DiCaprioJacki WeaverEmma StoneRami Malek, and Nicole Kidman.

Attracting some of the biggest names in film worldwide, the AACTA International Awards attract attention from both the international screen industry and media, including leading international outlets The Hollywood ReporterVarietyDeadline, and EXTRA.

The Awards are determined by AACTA’s International Chapter who vote across the seven categories. The AACTA International Chapter is made up of 190 Australian screen professionals with distinguished international credentials, including Baz LuhrmannCatherine MartinJan Chapman, and Jacki Weaver to name a few. Many International Chapter members are also members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS and the Oscars®), BAFTA, the Screen Actors Guild (SAG), and include members from the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA and the Golden Globes).

Read more about past AACTA International Awards, including past winners and nominees here.

For information on AACTA’s International Chapter and chapter membership, please contact Sam Buckland at sbuckland@afi.org.au.

Thanks to the generous support of our 
partners and sponsors.

Don't Miss Out
Keep up to date

Your cart

No items in your cart.